Fuzzy Head Anyone?

18th August 2015

returntowork

Hands up if you felt fuzzy headed when you returned from a holiday recently. I haven’t taken 2 consecutive weeks off in years, let alone in a rural area without wifi or 3G in NW France. My family delighted in this, cue much mickey taking and mocking of my difficulty at being disconnected with the outside world (there wasn’t even a wifi cafe within walking distance as they were all shut for holidays, and we were without a car as we broke down and said car was towed off to an unknown garage for several days).

So, I came back to stacks of emails and stuff to do of course – just like everybody else. But what I found tricky was getting my mind to re-activate. It took a whole week to gain my speediness back and I’ve got to be honest, I didn’t like it much. I pride myself on my ability to hold an enormous amount of information, people and activities in my head and I felt quite cross at my inadequacy.

Of course, the world didn’t stop. My team just got on with the job in hand with great professionalism and competence in my absence. In fact, so well I am wondering if I could even do this again…but could I find a balance between that complete disconnectedness and rest? I agree it’s good to give the brain and body (depending on the type of job you do) a rest and stick ourselves in a garage for a bit, but I can’t bear too much naval gazing (although reading a couple of books was good).

I love my work.

Leave a comment